Archive

Archive for February 27, 2012

BMDCB Hobbies: Danny Dranow

February 27, 2012 1 comment

In our new series we will be profiling the hobbies (what you do outside of lab) of BMCDB students.

Danny Dranow – Draper Lab

In my spare time at home or when I have some downtime in lab on the weekends, I like to sculpt using either clay or wire. It helps me relax and also gives me a sense of accomplishment in that I could feel like I at least got something done at lab if my experiments fail on the weekends.  I usually make a variety of miniature wire animals (centimeters in size), but I’ve made a wide range of things in past, from clay flowers and a miniature AT&T Park to a large cuttlefish and a giraffe Christmas ornament. These days though, most of the larger clay sculptures I make are for friends’ birthday or holiday gifts and are usually requests, sometimes strange, like a “crab playing maracas with a sombrero” (and yes, the maracas actually work).  I’m always looking for new ideas and challenges, so if you have any ideas on what I could make, I’d love to hear about them!

If you’re ever by the lab, Life Sciences 3117, feel free to drop by and check out the wire sculptures I have by my desk and if you really want one, just ask; I enjoy sculpting, but I also equally enjoy giving my work away to people who appreciate it.

 

Wim Delvoye’s Cloaca turns food into feces

February 27, 2012 Leave a comment

Artist Wim Delvoye is a Belgian “neo-conceptual” artist famous for inventive and controversial work which often revolves around the body; linking aesthetics to repulsive themes. His series of Cloaca machines are a strange confluence of design, plumbing and interconnected bioreactors all serving the purpose of ingesting, “digesting”, and excreting organic waste.  Pretty incredible what we can accomplish with technology, although I am not sure how this invention could serve humanity as a whole. As a species we’ve got the whole eating and excreting thing down pat.

“Cloaca makes the ultimate criticism of modern art – that most of it is crap; that the art world has finally disappeared up its own backside.”

-Ben Lewis

Here are some more links/pictures/video of how the Cloaca machines work:

Gizmodo

We Make Money Not Art

Wim Delvoye’s website

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers